Book Review: A Wrinkle in Time

IMG_3398

Book Title: A Wrinkle in Time

Author: Madeleine L’Engle

Published Date: March 15, 1973

Publisher: Yearling Books

Number of pages:  211

Book Synopsis:

It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger.

“Wild nights are my glory,” the unearthly stranger told them. “I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me be on my way. Speaking of way, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract”.

Meg’s father had been experimenting with this fifth dimension of time travel when he mysteriously disappeared. Now the time has come for Meg, her friend Calvin, and Charles Wallace to rescue him. But can they outwit the forces of evil they will encounter on their heart-stopping journey through space?

My thoughts/ my book review: 

Love it! I did not know this book existed when I was a kid. And I’m just wondering why I have not heard about it before. I guess maybe because I was leaving under a rock. LOL! I’ve only heard about this book when I saw the movie trailer.

I’m usually stingy with my ratings. But I’m giving this 5 stars. I love the pacing of this book, no boring moments for me. I love the 3 magical ladies: Mrs. Whichit and her non-stop chattering; Mrs. Who and her quotes in different languages, and most especially when she quoted 1 Corinthians 1: 25-28; and of course the wise Mrs. Which, she’s like a grandmother I never had.

For me, this is definitely a book I’ll remember for many years to come. I still have 4 more books to read in this series (looking forward to read all of it). But I definitely understand why this book is considered a classic. It’s exciting, magical, funny, and a page-turner. Looking forward to seeing the movie too.

My Next Read:

32620364

Looking forward to read “The Philosopher’s Flight” next. This is actually one of the choices in Book of the Month book subscription this month. But I chose another book and decided to borrow this book (The Philosopher’s Flight) from the library.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

That’s it for this week. Please like or leave a comment below if you can. Thanks again for dropping by.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑